Shaping Future Days

Dear readers, or guys and gals if you know me personally,

I’ve got some pretty awesome news to announce. This has been in development throughout the course of the weekend, but now it’s official. I am super excited to announce that I am now a contributor to the online publication Sound on Sight! I couldn’t be more excited to get things started with them and officially begin my life as a published writer. You all should totally go over to their website (soundonsight.org) and check out their stuff because they do some pretty cool things, and now that I’m a contributor, they just got even cooler (#humblebrag lol).

Now, this means a couple of things will be changing. First, I will essentially be writing part-time for Sound on Sight, contributing my own bi-weekly column, so my output for The Vulture’s Autopsies will go down slightly. I will still try to write as much as I can for this blog, but most of my creative energies will be devoted to writing different pieces for SoS. I will link the stuff I write for SoS through the blog, but I will just be providing the first couple of paragraphs and then giving a link to the article on the SoS website.

Secondly, I will not be writing any movie reviews for Sound on Sight, but rather think pieces, list articles, retrospectives, etc. But fear not, because I promise that I will be writing some interesting stuff for SoS – the idea I pitched as my first piece for the site is a cracker! Like I said earlier, I will try to write as many reviews as I can for my baby here, but you probably won’t be seeing as many in the future.

I know I said that I would have some reviews up for The Gift and Fantastic Four up at some point, but because of these developments – and the return of Premier League football, if I’m being completely honest – my mind has not been so focused on getting those written up and posted. As soon as I am finished with my first post for SoS – which should be relatively soon – I will get a double review of both films up rather than a separate review for both.

Once again, I couldn’t be more excited to finally get my foot in the door in the world of film criticism and analysis. Thank you to everyone who has ever read one of my reviews for either The Vulture’s Autopsies or The Flat Hat (or even Cascadian Cinephile way back in the day), ever complemented me on one of my reviews, or ever gave me words of encouragement to keep up this writing thing. This is the beginning to great things, I can tell, and I’ll be posting my first article soon.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I’m gonna go crack open some 15-year old Glenfiddich and watch Liam Neeson be a badass 😉

Love,
William, The Bastard Vulture

Leave a Reply

