Reopening a Mistakenly Closed Door

I’m back, and with a vengeance (and with a new look)!

Yes, it’s true.  I’m back on the blogging grind and back for good – or, at least for the time being.  I’m going to keep this short and sweet for you all, which as you all know is completely unlike the reviews I write (especially the one on the Evil Dead remake).  I know I’ve been gone for a long time, as I see the last post I made was a review of This is the End (2013) back when I was briefly living in the City of Angels.  But, that does not mean that I haven’t been continuing to review films and further my reviewing skills.

From the second semester of my junior year at the College of William & Mary until the second semester of my last year, I wrote film reviews for The Flat Hat’s (the College’s primary student publication) blog section Reel Talk.  You can check out the archive of my Reel Talk film reviews at this address: flathatnews.com/category/blogs/reeltalk (I should mention, though, that I haven’t been the only reviewer for the publication, so not all of the reviews are my own work).  Between writing for another source and having to deal with the daily insanities that life at college had to offer, keeping up with the blog was more than difficult.  I do admit, however, that I should have done a better job of keeping things up to date.  Now that I have graduated from the College, doing so will be easier than ever.  I can promise you all a higher quality product, as well.  With further experience in writing film reviews, two more years of classes that stress film analysis, critique, and theory, and more movies watched, one could say that I have expanded my vocabulary in a multitude of fashions.  I have many more weapons in my arsenal, and I intend on using them.

As I look toward the scary uncertainty of the future, I plan on continuing to write and make this not only my portfolio of material to show potential employers, but also my escape.  Whether it be poetry, song lyrics, film reviews, research papers, coverage, or even the press release for a film festival, I love to write, and I suspect that love will never leave me.  Of everything that I have ever put to page, my proudest accomplishment (both personally and in academia) was writing a 12-page research paper about Drew Goddard’s The Cabin in the Woods (2012), how it subverts the individual, sexualized male gaze of serial killers in slasher films, and by doing so reflects peoples’ fears and skepticisms about surveillance in modern society.  I know, however, that I still have a long way to go in terms of overall writing skills.  If I’ve learned anything from college, it is that writing is never easy, no matter how accomplished you are or how good of a writer you think you are.

So, without further adieu, come join me once more as I venture to improve my skills and offer a few thoughts along the way.  Let’s have some fun, shall we?

Leave a Reply

